Underage Drinking / Juvenile DUI

Bucks County Underage Drinking & Juvenile DUI Defense

Juvenile DUIPennsylvania’s blood alcohol content (BAC) limit for drivers under the age of 21 is 0.02%. If your child has been arrested for Underage Drinking or Juvenile DUI, you need an experienced juvenile defense attorney who will work aggressively to defend the charges.

Bucks County juvenile defense attorney Keith J. Williams understands that juveniles sometimes make mistakes, but they should not have to live with the consequences of that mistake for the rest of their lives. Mr. Williams provides legal advice, counseling and representation to underage clients who are facing Juvenile DUI and/or Underage Drinking.

Pennsylvania’s “Zero Tolerance” Law for Underage Drinking & Juvenile DUI

Juvenile DUI

Mixing alcohol with driving is always extremely dangerous. If you’re under 21 and you’re caught driving with ANY measurable amount of alcohol in your blood, you may be arrested for Driving Under the Influence (DUI).

Pennsylvania’s “Zero Tolerance” law lowered the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) for minors to .02%.

Experienced Bucks County Juvenile Defense Attorney

Underage Drinking

Keith J. Williams routinely represents high school and college students who have been charged with underage drinking. A sometimes-overlooked effect of an Underage DUI is that disclosure of the resulting conviction may be required on college applications, job applications, or for requests for some types of financial aid. The failure to report this information can result in the loss of rights, loss of financial aid, or even charges of perjury, if later discovered.

Underage Drinking in Pennsylvania

Juvenile DUI & Underage Drinking Defense

In Pennsylvania, the offense commonly called “underage drinking” encompasses a much broader range of conduct than just drinking. Contact Keith J. Williams to ensure that your child’s rights are protected. As an experienced Juvenile DUI attorney, Mr. Williams has defended clients in all types of Juvenile DUI cases in Bucks County, Montgomery County, Lehigh County, Philadelphia and surrounding areas. He has the knowledge, training and experience to avoid and/or minimize penalties your child could be facing.

Keith J. Williams is dedicated to minimizing charges, fines, and the long-term consequences associated with Juvenile DUI charges:

  • Public Drunkenness
  • Misrepresentation of Age to Secure Liquor or Malt or Brewed Beverages
  • Purchase, Consumption, Possession or Transportation of Liquor or Malt or Brewed Beverages
  • Representing That a Minor is “of Age”
  • Inducement of Minors to Buy Liquor or Malt or Brewed Beverages
  • Selling or Furnishing Liquor or Malt or Brewed Beverages to Minors
  • Manufacture or Sale of False Identification Card
  • Carrying a False Identification Card
  • Selling or Furnishing Nonalcoholic Beverages to Persons Under 21
  • Minor Prohibited from Operating with any Alcohol in System
  • DUI-Minors

UNDER 21 IN PENNSYLVANIA — KNOW THE LAWS: Crimes Associated With Underage Drinking

 PA Crimes Code


 

Public Drunkenness
Title 18, Section 5505

A person is guilty of a summary offense if he appears in any public place manifestly under the influence of alcohol to the degree that he may endanger himself or other persons or property, or annoy persons in his vicinity.

 PENALTY

 1ST OFFENSE

2ND OFFENSE

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE

 Fine

 0-$300   0-$300   0-$300

 Jail

  0-90 days   0-90 days  0-90 days

 


 

Misrepresentation of Age to Secure Liquor or Malt or Brewed Beverages
Title 18, Section 6307

A person is guilty of a summary offense for a 1st violation and a misdemeanor of the 3rd degree for any subsequent violations if he being under the age of 21 years, knowingly and falsely represents himself to be 21 years of age or older to any licensed dealer, distributor or other person, for the purpose of procuring or having furnished to him, any liquor or malt or brewed beverages.

 PENALTY

 1ST OFFENSE

2ND OFFENSE

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE

 Fine

 0 – $300   0 – $300   0 – $300

 Jail

  0 – 90 days   0 – 90 days  0 – 90 days

License Suspension

90 days 1 year 2 years

 


 

Purchase, Consumption, Possession or Transportation of Liquor or Malt or Brewed Beverages
Title 18, Section 6308

A person commits a summary offense if he, being less than 21 years of age, attempts to purchase, purchases, consumes, possesses or knowingly and intentionally transports any liquor or malt or brewed beverages.

 PENALTY

 1ST OFFENSE

2ND OFFENSE

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE

 Fine

 0 – $300   0 – $500   0 – $500

 Jail

48 hrs. – 6 mos. 30 days – 6 mos. 90 days – 5 years

License Suspension

12 months 12 months 18 months

Notify Parent

yes yes yes

 


Representing That a Minor is “of Age”
Title 18, Section 6309

A person is guilty of a misdemeanor of the third degree if he knowingly, willfully and falsely represents to any licensed dealer, or other person, any minor to be of full age, for the purpose of inducing [that] person to sell or furnish any liquor or malt or brewed beverages to the minor.

 PENALTY

 1ST OFFENSE

2ND OFFENSE

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE

 Fine

 $300 – $2,500  $300 – $2,500  $300 – $2,500

 Jail

0 – 1 year
30 days – 6 mos. 90 days – 5 years

Inducement of Minors to Buy Liquor or Malt or Brewed Beverages
Title 18, Section 6310

A person is guilty of a misdemeanor of the third degree if he knowingly, willfully and falsely represents to any licensed dealer, or other person, any minor to be of full age, for the purpose of inducing [that] person to sell or furnish any liquor or malt or brewed beverages to the minor.

 PENALTY

 1ST OFFENSE

2ND OFFENSE

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE

 Fine

 $300 – $2,500  $300 – $2,500  $300 – $2,500

 Jail

0 – 1 year
0 – 1 year 0 – 1 year

Selling or Furnishing Liquor or Malt or Brewed Beverages to Minors
Title 18, Section 6310.1

A person commits a misdemeanor of the third degree if he intentionally and knowingly sells or furnishes, or purchases with the intent to sell or furnish, any liquor or malt or brewed beverages to a person who is less than 21 years of age. This section does not apply to any religious service or ceremony which may be conducted in a private home or a place of worship where the amount of wine served does not exceed the amount reasonably, customarily and traditionally required as an integral part of the service or ceremony.

 PENALTY

 1ST OFFENSE

2ND OFFENSE

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE

 Fine

 $1,000 – $2,500  $2,500  $2,500

 Jail

0 – 1 year
0 – 1 year 0 – 1 year

Manufacture or Sale of False Identification Card
Title 18, Section 6310.2

A person commits a misdemeanor of the second degree if he intentionally, knowingly or recklessly manufactures, makes, alters, sells or attempts to sell an identification card falsely representing the identity, birth date or age of another.

 PENALTY

 1ST OFFENSE

2ND OFFENSE

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE

 Fine

 $1,000 – $5,000  $2,500 – $5,000
 $2,500 – $5,000

 Jail

0 – 2 years
0 – 2 years 0 – 2 years

 


 

Carrying a False ID Card
Title 18, Section 6310.3

A person commits a summary offense for a first violation and a misdemeanor of the third degree for any subsequent violations if he, being under 21 years of age, possesses an identification card falsely identifying that person by name, age, date of birth or photograph as being 21 years of age or older and obtains or attempts to obtain liquor or malt or brewed beverages by using the identification card of another or by using an identification card that has not been lawfully issued to or in the name of that person who possesses the card.

 PENALTY

 1ST OFFENSE

2ND OFFENSE

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE

 Fine

 0 – $300   0 – $500   0 – $500

 Jail

0 – 90 days
0 – 1 year
0 – 1 year

License Suspension

90 days 1 year 1 year

Notify Parent

yes yes yes

 


Selling or Furnishing Nonalcoholic Beverages to Persons Under 21
Title 18, Section 6310.7

A person commits a summary offense if he intentionally and knowingly sells or furnishes nonalcoholic beverages to any person under 21 years of age. As used in this section, the term “nonalcoholic beverage” means any beverage intended to be marketed or sold as nonalcoholic beer, wine, or liquor having some alcohol content but does not contain more than 0.5% alcohol by volume.

 PENALTY

 1ST OFFENSE

2ND OFFENSE

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE

 Fine

 0 – $300  0 – $300  0 – $300

 Jail

0 – 90 days
0 – 90 days 0 – 90 days

 

PA Vehicle Code


Minor Prohibited from Operating with any Alcohol in System
Title 75, Section 3718

Notwithstanding any other provision of this title, a minor shall not drive, operate or be in physical control of a motor vehicle while having any alcohol in his system. A person who violates this subsection commits a summary offense.

 PENALTY

 1ST OFFENSE

2ND OFFENSE

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE

 Fine

 $100  $100  $100

 


DUI-Minors
Title 75, Section 3802(e)

A person commits a summary offense for a first violation and a misdemeanor of the third degree for any subsequent violations if he, being under 21 years of age, possesses an identification card falsely identifying that person by name, age, date of birth or photograph as being 21 years of age or older and obtains or attempts to obtain liquor or malt or brewed beverages by using the identification card of another or by using an identification card that has not been lawfully issued to or in the name of that person who possesses the card.

 

*CRN Evaluation: Refers to Court Reporting Network, an assessment tool

**Ignition Interlock: 1 year (mandatory)

D & A Assessment and Compliance: Mandatory Drug and Alcohol Assessment and compliance with D & A treatment as condition of sentencing

Note: DUI offenders less than 21 years old also face underage drinking charges and the accompanying penalties.

 PENALTY

 1ST OFFENSE

2ND OFFENSE

SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE

 Fine

 $500 – $5,000   $750 – $5,000
  $1,500 – $10,000

 Jail

48 hrs. – 6 mos.
30 days – 6 mos.
90 days – 5 years

License Suspension

12 months
12 months 18 months

Notify Parent

yes yes yes

Additional Penalties

Alcohol Safety School

CRN Evaluation

Alcohol Safety School

CRN Evaluation

Ignition Interlock

D&A Assessment and Compliance

CRN Evaluation

Ignition Interlock

D&A Assessment and Compliance